• FREE consultation - Call Us Today at (813) 263-7044

Florida DUI penalties vary depending on a number of factors including the Defendant’s prior record and DUI enhancements.  DUI penalties are dictated by Florida Statute 316.92.  An experienced DUI attorney may be able to get your cased dismissed or amended to a Reckless Driving charge.  A DUI conviction will carry mandatory penalties including fines, driver’s license suspension, community service, DUI school, vehicle immobilization and jail time.  Statutory penalties for the different types of DUI convictions are listed below.  To fight your DUI charge,contact The Lambert Law Firm.

DUI Fines
First DUI Conviction: $250 to $500 fine. ($500-$1000 if the driver’s blood alcohol level was above 0.15, or if a minor was in the vehicle)
Second DUI Conviction: $500-$1000 fine. ($1000 to $2000 if the driver’s blood alcohol level was above 0.15, or if a minor was in the vehicle)
Third DUI Conviction: $1000-$5000 fine. (minimum $2000 fine if the driver’s blood alcohol level was above 0.15, or if a minor was in the vehicle)
Fourth or Subsequent DUI Conviction: $1,000 and up. (minimum $2000 fine if the driver’s blood alcohol level was above 0.15, or if a minor was in the vehicle)

DUI Community Service
For a first time DUI conviction 50 community service hours are required.  Community service hours are not mandated by law for subsequent DUI convictions, but community service is often imposed anyway.  Most Courts require that at least 16 hours community service to be completed with the Sheriff’s Office Work Detail or a similar law enforcement program.  In some cases Judge’s will allow Defendants to “buy out” a potion of their community service requirement.  $10 per hour is the standard rate.

DUI Jail Sentences
First DUI Conviction: 0-6 months jail. (0-9 months jail if the driver’s blood alcohol level was above 0.15, or if a minor was in the vehicle)
Second DUI Conviction: 0-9 months jail.  There is a mandatory 10 day jail requirement for a second DUI conviction within 5 years. (0-12 months jail if the driver’s blood alcohol level was above 0.15, or if a minor was in the vehicle)
Third DUI Conviction: 0-12 months jail if the conviction occurred more than ten years since the last prior conviction.  There is a mandatory 30 day jail requirement if the DUI conviction occurs with 10 years of any prior conviction, and the charge may be upgraded to a third degree felony with a maximum sentence of 5 years Florida State Prison.
Forth or Subsequent Conviction: 0-5 years Florida State Prison.  There is a mandatory 30 day jail requirement if the DUI conviction occurs with 10 years of any prior conviction.

 

For a free consultation, please contact our Tampa law firm today!